Small Fish Big Fish

By PJ McDermott

Young adult, New adult fiction, Literary fiction | Paperback, eBook


The year is 1965. Sonny and Cher's "I Got You Babe" is number one on the charts; the first US combat troops have arrived in Vietnam, and American and Soviet astronauts are orbiting the Earth. Seventeen-year-old Stephen McBride is struggling to find his place in this exciting world. Assailed by surging hormones, protective parents and imminent college exams, he's starting to question the existence of God and thinks some people are just plain evil. People like Archie Stewart for instance. Archie isn’t the sort of guy you’d want for a pal. He’s a bully and has a wild, intimidating look, like a circling shark. Before long, Stephen finds it near impossible not to fall in with Archie’s plans — even when it means breaking the law. Logic says that Stephen should put his fears aside, decide what sort of person he wants to be, and do the right thing. Unfortunately, logic doesn't take into account Archie’s devious scheming. Hope, loyalty, and courage are tested to the limit in this gripping psychological coming of age/murder mystery. Fans of Angela's Ashes, Jasper Jones, and Jimmy Barnes' Working Class Boy will love it.


Less...

The year is 1965. Sonny and Cher's "I Got You Babe" is number one on the charts; the first US combat troops have arrived in Vietnam, and American and Soviet astronauts are orbiting the Earth. Seventeen-year-old Stephen McBride is struggling to find his place in this exciting world. Assailed by surging hormones, protective parents and imminent college exams, he's starting to question the existence of God and thinks some people are just plain evil. People like Archie Stewart for instance. Archie isn’t the sort of guy you’d want for a pal. He’s a bully and has a wild, intimidating look, like a circling shark. Before long, Stephen finds it near impossible not to fall in with Archie’s plans — even when it means breaking the law. Logic says that Stephen should put his fears aside, de...


More...


PJ McDermott lived in Ferguslie Park, the setting for his debut novel, Small Fish Big Fish, until he was fifteen. At twenty-one he went back to study full-time at Langside College, and from there to Glasgow University, graduating Bachelor of Science. A regular on the Scottish Folk Club circuit, PJ played guitar and sang with his friends and cousins for pocket money. He lived in Paisley until, at twenty-six, he met and married Sue, who convinced him to return with her to Australia, a move he has never regretted. In 2011,PJ discovered a talent for writing and has since published several short stories and the novel, Small Fish Big Fish, and Books 1 and 2 of the science fiction series, The Prosperine Trilogy. Book 3, The Scarf, will be published in August, 2016. PJ lives with his wife, in Melbourne. They have two beautiful daughters, and two seriously cheeky grandchildren.


Less...

PJ McDermott lived in Ferguslie Park, the setting for his debut novel, Small Fish Big Fish, until he was fifteen. At twenty-one he went back to study full-time at Langside College, and from there to Glasgow University, graduating Bachelor of Science. A regular on the Scottish Folk Club circuit, PJ played guitar and sang with his friends and cousins for pocket money. He lived in Paisley until, at t...


More...



Links

Website
Login
admin

iAuthor

Just now

Make your presence felt. Be the first to post!

    1463861044 social-instagram-new-square1 Io6eZONw-01 Add to footer
Sitemap | Terms & Conditions
Privacy & Data

© 2019 iAuthor Ltd
Design: Splash | Web: MWW
 BAI logo smaller