These Fragile Things

By Jane Davis

General fiction, Literary fiction | Paperback, eBook


Life can change in a split second. And there will be nothing you can do to stop it. Parents: Ask yourselves how you would react if your 14-year old daughter claimed to be seeing visions? Teenagers: would you risk ridicule and scorn — knowing others besides yourself will be affected — to voice a seemingly impossible claim? As Streatham, South London, still reels from the riots in neighbouring Brixton, Graham Jones, an ordinary father, grows fearful for his teenage daughter Judy, who faces a world where the pace of change appears to be accelerating. But even he cannot predict what will happen next. A series of events is about to be unleashed over which he will have no control, and the lives of his family will be turned upside-down. Perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell, Rachel Joyce and Ali Smith.



Jane Davis is the author of six novels. Her debut, Half-truths and White Lies, won the Daily Mail First Novel Award and was described by Joanne Harris as 'A story of secrets, lies, grief and, ultimately, redemption, charmingly handled by this very promising new writer.' The Bookseller featured her in their 'One to Watch' section. Five further novels have earned her a loyal fan base and wide-spread praise. Regularly compared to more seasoned authors such as Kate Atkinson and Maggie O'Farrell, Compulsion Reads describe Jane as 'a phenomenal writer whose ability to create well-rounded characters that are easy to relate to feels effortless.' Her favourite description of fiction is 'made-up truth'. Jane lives in Carshalton, Surrey, with her Formula 1 obsessed, beer-brewing partner, surrounded by growing piles of paperbacks, CDs and general chaos. When she is not writing, you may spot Jane disappearing up the side of a mountain with a camera in hand.


Less...

Jane Davis is the author of six novels. Her debut, Half-truths and White Lies, won the Daily Mail First Novel Award and was described by Joanne Harris as 'A story of secrets, lies, grief and, ultimately, redemption, charmingly handled by this very promising new writer.' The Bookseller featured her in their 'One to Watch' section. Five further novels have earned her a loyal fan base and wide-spread...


More...



Latest news

Book Review

9 June

'Davis is a phenomenal writer whose ability to create well-rounded characters that are easy to relate to felt effortless.' ~ Compulsion Reads 'If one reads a lot, book after book (as I do), you sometimes get a sense of repeated themes, story arcs, and plot points that begin to run together in ways that make it hard to discern what's outstanding or noteworthy from the book before. Then a story jumps out at you with a raw burst of originality and thought-provocation that goes deeper than most, leaving you thinking and pondering the issues and plot lines unfolding in front of you. That would be These Fragile Things.' ~ Lorraine Devon Wilke, Author 'Jane Davis really does bring characters to life, mothers, fathers, friends, teachers are all perfectly described along with their actions and reactions to events. I love the occasional asides, an overheard conversation here, or a mental comparison of one home with another there, all of which helps to anchor the story.' ~ Cleo Bannister, Book Blogger 'That Jane Davis is an important new writer is a given.' ~ Grady Harp, Book Blogger 'The relationship between husband and wife is so subtle and enduringly lovely.' ~ Sally Markwell, Reader 'Never wastes a word.' ~ Geoffrey West, Sutton Writers' Club. 'Masterly writing on a subject most of us don't give a second thought to.' ~ Amazon Reviewer 'This book will take you on a journey into parts of the psyche we never normally explore. It will make you look at life differently and ask yourself the big questions we all normally avoid.' ~ Mrs Tina Britt, Reader 'Moving, thought provoking, sad and funny.' ~ Karen Begg, Reader 'The author's prose is extraordinary.' ~ Julie, Amazon Reviewer, US


Less...

'Davis is a phenomenal writer whose ability to create well-rounded characters that are easy to relate to felt effortless.' ~ Compulsion Reads 'If one reads a lot, book after book (as I do), you sometimes get a sense of repeated themes, story arcs, and plot points that begin to run together in ways that make it hard to discern what's outstanding or noteworthy from the book before. Then a story jumps out at you with a raw burst of originality and thought-provocation that goes deeper than most, leaving you thinking and pondering the issues and plot lines unfolding in front of you. That would be These Fragile Things.' ~ Lorraine Devon Wilke, Author 'Jane Davis really does bring characters to life, mothers, fathers, friends, teachers are all perfectly described along with their actions and re...


More...


Links

Blog Website
Login
admin

iAuthor

Just now

Make your presence felt. Be the first to post!

    1463861044 social-instagram-new-square1 Io6eZONw-01 Add to footer
Sitemap | Terms & Conditions
Privacy & Data

© 2018 iAuthor Ltd
Design: Splash | Web: MWW
partner-member BAI logo smaller